About us

Professorin und Professoren der BWL - engeres Departementskollegium
Professors of Business Administration – inner departmental staff; © Department of Business Administration

Within the structure of the University of Bern, the Department of Business Administration is subordinate to the Faculty of Business, Economics and Social Sciences. This faculty also includes the Department of Economics and the Department of Social Sciences (SociologyPolitical Science and Media Studies).

The Department of Business Administration itself is divided into five institutes and the Departmental Staff Office.

Department spokesperson

The department spokesperson heads up the departmental council and represents the department externally. Professor Markus  Arnold has been the spokesperson of the Department of Business Administration since August 1, 2022. 

Departmental Staff Office

The Departmental Staff Office supports the spokesperson in carrying out the department’s various tasks and conducts the Academic Student Advice. Furthermore, the departmental staff office for Business Administration serves as a central coordination and communication hub within the Department of Business Administration as well as maintaining and expanding the relationships between the department, students, university authorities and companies.


The individual institutes represent the specialist areas of Business Administration in research and teaching. More information on this is provided on each institute’s website.

Academic Student Advice

The Academic Student Advice assists students with correctly interpreting the regulations and study guides. In addition, it provides students with information about administrative issues relating to Business Administration programs.


The Communications Office maintains and expands relationships between the department, students, and businesses.